Musings of a Twiftie

a teen writing for teens

teaser tuesdays make for dull post titles April 6, 2010

Filed under: snippets&samples — maenadwrites @ 8:58 pm

Back! Finally, it’s been like forever. Anyway, this is from a new WIP, titled ‘Adventures of the Unaverage’. I’ve always wanted to write a series of short stories to post online, just for fun. After about a million failed ideas, I think this is The One! No, not that The One, the other The One. So, enjoy this snip, and hopefully you can read the rest soon!

w

~~~~

w

Ding! Ding!

j

My phone. I had a new message, and it could only be from one person. Pretending to still listen to my mom while she rambled on about the difference between cinnamon and nutmeg, I slipped my cell out of my pocket and opened the text. Sure enough, it was from Wolf.

d

“Mom? I have to leave now.”

w

“Right now?” she asked, forgetting about the cake for a minute. “But sweetie, why?”

w

“An old friend of mine is having a family emergency,” I said. It wasn’t exactly a lie, really.

i

“This late at night?” Mom asked, her eyes wide with concern. I smiled.

d

“Yeah, emergencies don’t seem too big on waiting for a decent hour.”

w

“Funny things, aren’t they? Hey, why don’t you take your friend some of these cookies?”

w

Before I could protest Mom was shoving a container full of sugar cookies into my hands. I thanked her while trying to escape to the hall. As soon as I turned the corner and was out of her sight, the over-decorated walls faded and instead a messy room appeared. Family photos were replaced by posters, and the smell of too much air freshener became week old pizza. Ew.

y

“Wolf?” I asked, covering my nose. A startled cry made me jump. I spun and found Wolf sitting at his desk, glaring at me.

d

“Was it completely necessary to sneak up on me like that?” he asked, sounding more amused than annoyed.

w

“If you’d like, I could take the train instead. It would take me a few hours longer to get here, though,” I teased. “Oh, by the way, Mom sent cookies.”

a

I put the container on his desk and he eagerly opened it. “Your Mom is the best. Okay, all is forgiven. Okay, check this out.”

w

The Book of Everything was open to a page featuring a news article about some tourists who said they heard the Great Sphinx laugh. I started reading over his shoulder, but Wolf quickly got impatient and explained the situation.

d

“So I was heading to bed and I wanted something good to read. I opened the Book, and I got this article. Most people seem to think the tourists who heard it are crazy, but you and I know better.”

p

“Of course I know better, I can freaking teleport,” I said, rolling my eyes.

t

“Yeah. Anyway, I checked the Book and as far as I can tell this is Frank Peters, he can become any inanimate object. He’s been known to throw around a few world domination threats, and apparently he found an object big enough that he thinks he can do some damage by being it.”

o

“Wait, you’re saying that this Frank person is somehow the Great Sphinx?”

o

“Yeah. So, you up for a quick trip to Egypt?”

w

“You know, sometimes I feel like a human taxi cab,” I sighed. “Come on, let’s go stop a huge, possessed statue. This should be fun.”


 

6 Responses to “teaser tuesdays make for dull post titles”

  1. Kaitlin Says:

    What a cool teaser! I really enjoyed it :)
    Especially when she was snarky with her mom.

  2. I have that “This is the one” problem ALL THE TIME. Here’s hoping it really is :)

  3. Ink Says:

    Your creativity with this story just astounds me. I find it quirky and awesome and I love it.

    Also, I’m totally a victim of the “this is the one” problem. We should start a club or something, lol.

  4. maenadwrites Says:

    Thanks everyone!

    @Kaitlin: Snark is fun. Don’t tell my mom I said that.

    @Sage: Same here, curse my horrible lack of attention span!

    @Ink: Yes!! I was totally aiming for creative, I’m so happy I got it. Also, the club sounds awesome.

  5. Becca Says:

    Love the originality of this! I want to take a trip to Egypt! *pouts* <33

  6. bethany Says:

    I really liked this, sounds like a very interesting story. (and I always argue that teleportation would be the BEST super power)


Leave a Reply

