Musings of a Twiftie

a teen writing for teens

such a tease March 2, 2010

Filed under: snippets&samples — maenadwrites @ 8:42 pm

That time of week again! Today, the teaser is part of my WIP newly titled “The Salvation Letters”. This is the first of those letters. Enjoy!

w

~~~~

w

Dear Samantha,

w

I can’t believe it. I just can’t. I saw you yesterday, you were fine. We ate lunch together. And now you’re gone. Forever. Wow.

w

I just don’t understand why you did it. I mean, I’m your best friend! If anyone knew why, it would be me. But now I realize that I was a pretty sucky friend.

w

Sure, we used to hang out a lot. Remember when we watched that movie ten times in a row, and almost didn’t get out of the mall before closing time? We got into huge trouble, but that’s still my favorite movie. Oh, and remember that time in sixth grade when we didn’t talk to each other for a month because of Todd Anderson? Turned out he didn’t like either of us. Those were the days.

w

What happened to us? I didn’t even realize how far apart we had drifted. Now it’s too late. Ugh, I can’t believe I let you wither away while I blabbed about every stupid thing on the planet. I should have been listening to you. Maybe this wouldn’t have happened if I’d just shut up for a few minutes.

w

I wish I could ask you to forgive me, but that would be stupid. I mean, you’re dead. Why am I even writing to you? Probably something psychological, a coping method or something. Whatever it’s called, it’s kind of pointless. Or not. Maybe in a few years I’ll read this letter and it will help me make some important decision or be a better person. Maybe I’ll lose it, throw it away. I don’t know.

w

One thing is for sure: when, or if, I find a new best friend, I won’t ever let them go. If they seem the slightest bit sad I’ll make them spill the beans so I can help them. Yeah, that sounds good. Me, Lora Hills, saving the world. Saving lives, making up for losing one. I’m sorry.

w

That’s basically why I’m writing this, isn’t it? I’m sorry, Samantha, I’m so sorry. I can’t even begin to describe it, I feel like someone reached into me and ripped out part of my soul, my heart. Me, I’m the one who did it. I’ve done this to myself by letting you down. I did it to everyone, every single person who’s hurting now that you’re gone. Oh God, I’m a monster. Samantha, forgive me, wherever you are, I’m begging you.

w

You’re dead, I know. But others aren’t, not yet. I won’t let anyone leave me, not ever again. But you’re gone, and I need to stop this. Writing to dead people? Probably not healthy. So this is it, huh?

w

I’m sorry.

w

Thank you.

w

I love you.

w

I loved you.

w

Good bye.

sadfas

asdaLora

 

7 Responses to “such a tease”

  1. Debra Driza Says:

    Ah, this is sad! Is the whole novel made up of letters?

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Caitlin Says:

    Aw, that’s terribly sad, Mae. *sniffle*

    It’s quite touching, actually. I love this line: “Me, Lora Hills, saving the world. Saving lives, making up for losing one. I’m sorry.”

  3. Leasie Says:

    It was so sweet and sad and definately sniffly… loves it

  4. Kathy Says:

    Whoa. What happened? Why does she blame herself? There are so many questions raised from this letter!

  5. choco Says:

    This is so sad, but very touching :) Great teaser!

  6. thmafi Says:

    oh so sad. but good sad. where is this going to go??


Leave a Reply

