Musings of a Twiftie

a teen writing for teens

teeeeeeeeeeeeeease February 16, 2010

Filed under: snippets&samples — maenadwrites @ 11:05 pm

“So, what do you think, Samantha?” Lora’s shrill voice interrupted my trip down memory lane. I blinked a few times, as though waking up from a dream.

asdfsd

“What?” I asked. I had no idea what Lora was talking about, or what she wanted my opinion of. Her mouth twitched into a thin line, a sure sign that she was annoyed.

adfasf

“Weren’t you paying attention?” She asked, and I avoided answering by stuffing my mouth with sandwich. “I wanted to know if you think I should go to the movies with Jake, or wait and go to the fair.”

adfads

“Why not both?” I answered, and then I really heard her question.

dafdsf

The fair. Gabriel had invited me to the fair. I had gone shopping with Lora and Megan, and I got a cute, fun dress, perfect for the occasion. For a flitting second I wondered if it was too late to return it. Had I kept the receipt?

asdfas

I heard Megan hissing angrily at Lora, something about being more insensitive than usual. White noise drowned out their arguing voices. A thousand bees buzzed through my head, a swarm of wasps stung my mind. My stomach rolled like a stormy sea. I clasped my hands over my mouth, nausea threatening to overwhelm me.

asdfas

“You okay?” Megan asked, gently setting her hand on my shoulder. The gesture should have comforted me, but instead I shuddered. What kind of trick question was this? Of course I wasn’t okay. Not at all. Lora’s wide eyes stared at me, filled with concern, peeking from around Megan’s head. She was scared. Scared of me, her best friend since third grade.

asdfas

“No,” I answered in a hoarse whisper. Megan and Lora exchanged a look, then leaned in closer. They hadn’t heard. I repeated it, louder. “No, I’m not okay.”

asdfas

Megan gave a little nod, as though she wasn’t surprised. She moved closer to me and wrapped her arm around my shoulder in a loose hug. Lora kept staring at me with those terrified eyes of hers. Wimp.

 

4 Responses to “teeeeeeeeeeeeeease”

  1. S and S Says:

    There’s a realness to this that I really love. Great teaser. Some more next week, maybe? :P

  2. Caitlin Says:

    Oh dear. They don’t sound like very good friends, do they? *sadface* Poor girl.

  3. Karla Says:

    Wow! This was great! I loved the descriptions!

  4. Glen Says:

    Ok, what’s the deal? Why is your MC’s friend terrified!? I need to know! Ok, I’m hooked :D


Leave a Reply

