Musings of a Twiftie

a teen writing for teens

A twinkle in its author’s eye… January 14, 2010

Filed under: discussions — maenadwrites @ 2:16 am

Everyone gets their ideas in different ways. In my case, sometimes I find a title I like and make up a story to go with it. Other times, the entire plot might reveal itself in a flash of enlightenment (unfortunately I have yet to experience this). Or perhaps you had an idea for a character, so you created a story for him or her. Maybe none of the above.

why won’t paragraphs split properly?

For Piper’s World, I started with the concept of a boy who misses his dad and runs away, winding up at a ghost town. Now that original idea is lost under the layers of other stuff I’ve added, but it’s still the base.

now i’m forced to do this…

For Prison of Lies, I had a picture of this lower class boy who decides the best way to get what he wants is to seduce an upper class girl. Of course, he fails miserably at it, possibly humorously, too.

so that it’s not all run on and hard to read

That’s only how I came up with my current WIPs, I’ve got plenty of other stories to tell. You probably do, too. So, how did your current WIP(s) come to be?

did anyone find this?

~Mae

 

3 Responses to “A twinkle in its author’s eye…”

  1. Each story has a different inspiration (well, mostly). My favorite inspiration story is for AFTRLYF.

    Here I was, driving along and I’m behind a car with a license plate. It was something like FT1L1F. I’m not sure. All I know is that I read it as “FTRLIF” and thought “Afterlife? Oh, wait, that’s not afterlife. How would you spell afterlife on a license plate? What kind of person would have ‘aftrlyf’ on their license plate?” So I created a sarcastic Angel of Death and built a novel around her.

    As for my most recent novel, the inspiration for it came from the novel I wrote right before it. I had a character (the character was based on the Owl City song, “Fireflies”) who I fell in love with, and she only got one chapter in the novel. Well, it was the best chapter in the book, so I stole her from it and gave her her own novel.

  2. Bee Says:

    Honestly, Sage that’s an awesome example of spur-on-the-moment-inspiration. Sadly I don’t have such an interesting tale to share.

    My current WiP, Breaking Away came to me on the first day of this year, when I was frantically trying to meet the deadline of my previous WiP. I was fuzzy with wine, quite liking it, when this voice came to my head. It was the voice of Ronnie, my BA MC…and she was in a drunken stupor. Before I knew it, my head was spinning (not from alcohol, but from the SNI), Ronnie has a lot to tell me and for now, I’m just letting her :))

    Great post, Mae <3


Leave a Reply

