Musings of a Twiftie

a teen writing for teens

Dear Samantha… January 5, 2010

Filed under: snippets&samples — maenadwrites @ 3:25 am

I entered this in Nathan Bransford’s contest and decided to post it here, too. Enjoy!

~~~~

Dear Samantha,

I still can’t believe you’re gone. You’re dead, by your own hand. I don’t understand. Why did you do it?

I should have seen it coming, really. You’d been moping around for weeks after your mom was diagnosed with cancer. Then that jerk dumped you. What was his problem, anyway?

But then again, he’s not the only one to blame. You were my best friend, I should have been there for you. I thought I was too busy with my schoolwork, with my chores, with Ray. I could have made time for you. Even just a hug might have helped. I could have given you the cookies I made instead of giving them to Ray. They were chocolate chip, your favorite.

I’m sorry, Samantha. I feel so horrible. There’s so much I wish I had done. I want it all to be back to the way it was, when you were here with me. Even though I can’t show you anymore, I still love you. I always will. What I wouldn’t give to be able to hug you one last time. I’d bake you a thousand chocolate chip cookies if I could just say goodbye. But I can’t.

There is something I can do, though. That hug I’ll never be able to give you? I’ll give it to that girl in our Chem class, her grandpa just died. And remember that kid with the locker next to mine? Nobody ever talks to him, he sits by himself in the cafeteria. There’s plenty of room at that table for me. I bet he’ll really like some chocolate chip cookies, too.

I miss you, Samantha. I love you. I’ll never forget you, and the pain might never go away.

But I’ve got to move on, Samantha, and I can’t think of a better way to do it than to help others. I don’t want them to end up like you.

I want to save someone’s life, because I couldn’t save yours.

I love you.

 

Leave a Reply

